Freshman Year: Why I Wouldn’t Change a Thing.

Image

As I sit here writing this, I should be studying for my last two finals; my last of freshman year that I honestly need to make A’s on.  But I can’t bring myself to do it.  I am too overwhelmed with the enormity of the fact that this is the end of my freshman year of college.  Looking back, I wonder if I would change things; I wonder if I should have joined different organizations; I wonder how different my life would be if I had taken a different class or taken a different work shift.  But most of all, I wonder what my life would be like if I had not gone to the University of Georgia at all.  What if I had gone to my back up schools, Bama or Ole Miss?  What if I had gotten into my first choice, Georgetown?  My life would be completely different.  I would take different classes; I would know different people; I would be different.

I’m not gonna lie, college has changed me.  It has made me grow up and it has made me realize a lot of things that I was to naive to understand before.  I learned that people will leave you.  No matter how hard you love them or hold on to them, they will slip through your fingers and that’s just the way things are.  I learned that class is a lot harder than you thought it would be.  That you actually have to study if you even want above a C.  I learned that making friends is hard.  There must be effort put in and you have to open up to people you barely know, just praying that they don’t rip you in two.  But the biggest thing I learned is that you will lose faith.  You will lose it many times and you will regain it.  There will be times when you feel lost and alone, and then there are those nights surrounded by friends where you could never imagine feeling that lost again, but it will happen.  Even though college was a lot harder than I thought it would be, some amazing things came out of it.  I realized what I want to do with my life, and I realized your best friends will still be your best friends even though you live hundreds of miles away.  Most importantly, I found a home.  In this wonderful classic city, I found myself and the people who will be on my journey for the next three years.  Looking back at what could have been, one thing I know for sure though is that I wouldn’t want to change a thing.

So to anyone who is about to start college next year, these are the 10 things you need to know.

1. STUDY!

The amount of work that has to be done is enourmas and all you will want to do is not do it.  DO IT. Trust me, you’ll thank yourself when you see your test grade.

2. Get a Job.

Yes, it will take up time, but you need money! The amount of times I heard my friends say they couldn’t do something because they were broke is too many to count.  Money is a good thing.

3. Join EVERY Organization Possible.

That is the only way you will find your niche.  You have to try everything to find the right group.

4. Go Out!

You will regret the nights you stayed in watching Netflix.  You could be out making memories so take it while you can.

5. Health is Important!

Shower, eat well, work out…You’re body will thank you for it.

6. It’s okay to skip classes.

Your parents may make it seem like a big deal but some days you just need to relax.  It’s okay.

7. You’re not going to be friends with everyone.

In high school, everyone may have been besties, but that girl you met the first week or the boy that smiled at you downtown, you may never see them again.

8. Reach out to people.

There are so many people, so if you find one you like, hold on to them.  Some of these people will be your friends for life; make sure you pick the right ones.

9. Laugh at yourself.

When you do something stupid, don’t get embarrassed.  People are crazy and college is the time to make a fool of yourself.  Embrace it.

10. Try new things!

College is the time to find yourself.  Take weird classes; go to new places; talk to people you wouldn’t normally talk to.  Don’t be afraid to spend all night exploring with your friends.  This is the time to live and live well, so don’t waste it.

I honestly loved my freshman college experience.  It was crazy and hard and wonderful and life changing all at the same time.  But I am also excited for the next chapter.  People say freshman year is the next chapter after high school, but that’s just the transition phase.  The real next chapter starts once you get through and you don’t even realize it till the end.

Leave a Reply

